Altoona baseball piling up Mid-Penn honors | News, Sports, Jobs

Altoona’s baseball team was honored for its standout season by the Mid-Penn Conference on Tuesday.

Head coach Tom Smith was named the co-Mid-Penn Commonwealth Coach of the Year along with Cedar Cliff’s Justin Secrest. Seniors Lucas Muffie and Erik Rhodes were also selected to the Mid-Penn Commonwealth first team.

Aidan Steinbugl was picked for the second team, and Connor Blow was selected as an honorable mention. Altoona won the division, the District 6 Class 6A title and a subregional game over McDowell before falling to Upper St. Clair, 2-0, in the first round of the PIAA playoffs on Monday.

In addition to the baseball honors, Altoona’s Abby Smearman was picked to the Mid-Penn Commonwealth softball first team. The Mountain Lions were represented on the Mid-Penn Commonwealth’s second team volleyball squad by Garrett Baumgartner and on the honorable mention list by Caleb Fries.

PVCA team picked

Altoona was represented by Garrett Baumgartner, Caleb Fries and Sam Kessinger on the first team of the Pennsylvania Volleyball Coaches Association’s All-District 3A squad.

Baumgartner, Fries and Kessinger are all underclassmen.

State College’s Brayden Kuruzovich, Kieran Leahey and Jett True also made the squad.

On the 2A team, Central’s Zach and Zeb Wyant were represented along with Bishop Guilfoyle Catholic’s Nick and Noah Anderson.

In addition, District 6 champion West Shamokin had Ezra Oesterling and Owen Stover make the team.

Heritage stars selected

The Heritage Conference announced its spring all stars recently.

Cambria Heights, competing in the league for the first season, had several all stars. Adam Ford made it for baseball, and Karli Storm and Jenna Serafin were selected in softball.

Track and field all stars from the Highlanders included Steven Yeckley, Tanner Trybus, Tanner Hite, Sam Cherry and Paige Burkey.

Portage was represented in robotics by Logan Eichelberger.


Bridger Blankenbiker, United; Logan Eichelberger, Portage; Toby Bishop, Homer-Center; Conner Rebo, Matthew Izzo, River Valley; Nick Dunmire, West Shamokin; Braydon Albright, Purchase Line; Paul Smith, Marion Center.


Ben Tomb, United; Josh Miller, Northern Cambria; Niko Buffone, West Shamokin; Braden Dunn, Homer-Center; Cameron Reaugh, River Valley; Zander Bennett, Purchase Line; Adam Ford, Cambria Heights; Ty Ryen, Landin Bennett, Marion Center; Carter Smith, Penns Manor.


Jessica Krug, Northern Cambria; Haleigh Newell, West Shamokin; Hannah Foust, River Valley; Alaina Fabin, Homer-Center; Abigail McConville, United; Avery Falisec, Purchase Line; Hayden Sturgeon, Penns Manor; Grace Rougeaux, Marion Center; Karli Storm, Jenna Serafin, Cambria Heights.


Isaiah Bence, Nicky Todd, Homer-Center; Joe Griffiths, Logan Keith, Northern Cambria; Francis Benko, River Valley; River Valley 400 relay team (Maxwell Hilty, Ethan Kishlock, Samuel Ewing, Zackary McFarlin); Bridger Blankenbicker, Gaige Grassmyer, United; Brady Syster, Vincenzo Scott, Aaron Wright, Purchase Line; Steven Yeckley, Tanner Trybus, Tanner Height, Cambria Heights; Tim Barrett, JJ Ferraro, Cameron Pack, Dillon Green, TJ Lynn, Landon Cook, Mason Ploskunak, Evan Risinger, Brady Leasure, Marion Center; Justin Marshall, Alex Polenik, Colton Shields, Penns Manor.


Justley Sharp, Gabi Page, Aynnah Elliott, Homer-Center; Sara McConnell, Emily Jackson, Mia Duncan, River Valley; Ella Miller, Aria Homady, Northern Cambria; Cassandra Weber, Sarah Marshall, Kenley Ingalls, United; Sam Cherry, Paige Burkey, Cambria Heights; Rachael Ward, Mikeayla Ryen, Alonna Phillips, Alissa Phillips, Abigail Goncher, Faith Smith, Purchase Line; Lilly Ryer, Brynnley Haggerty, Claire Hood, Reagan Ryen, McKenzie Thomas, Mikayla Gatskie, Lydia Miller, Rachel Fox, Marion Center; Savanna Orner, Penns Manor.

MVL sets squad

Moshannon Valley’s Michael Kitko and Ethan Webb were selected to the Moshannon Valley League high school baseball all-star team, which was announced on Tuesday.

Curwensville was represented by Thad Butler, Jake Mullins and Shane Sunderlin. Harmony, which was upset by Williamsburg in the District 6 playoffs, had Cohlton Fry and Anthony Maseto make the team, and West Branch’s all-stars included Lukas Colton and Isaac Tiracorda.

Today’s breaking news and more in your inbox


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *