College World Series wins by school: Who has the most NCAA baseball national championships in history?

Only eight teams remain in contention to win the College World Series, and a few among them have won the national title. Of the teams left, only three have ever stood atop the college baseball world.

Reaching this stage in the baseball season is one of the most difficult achievements in college sports, and few schools have ever been crowned national champion. Now, Arkansas, Auburn, Notre Dame, Oklahoma, Ole Miss, Stanford, Texas and Texas A&M will compete to become the latest title-winner.

Here’s a look at the schools that have won the most Men’s College World Series titles in NCAA history.

MORE: College World Series bracket, schedule

Most College World Series wins

USC hasn’t won a national championship since 1998, but it leads the college baseball field by a long shot when it comes to the College World Series wins.

The Trojans have claimed 12 CWS titles, including a record five straight from 1970-74. No other team in CWS history has won more than two consecutive titles.

MORE: College World Series format, explained

The next closest teams are LSU and 2022 participant Texas, with each team having claimed six titles in their history.

school Titles Years
USC 12 1948, 1958, 1961, 1963, 1970, 1971, 1972, 1973, 1974, 1978, 1998
LSU 6 1991, 1993, 1996, 1997, 2000, 2009
Texas 6 1949, 1950, 1975, 1983, 2002, 2005
Arizona State 5 1965, 1967, 1969, 1977, 1981
Arizona 4 1976, 1980, 1986, 2012
Cal State Fullerton 4 1979, 1984, 1995, 2004
Miami 4 1982, 1985, 1999, 2001
Minnesota 3 1956, 1960, 1964
Oregon State 3 2006, 2007, 2018
vanderbilt 2 2014, 2019
South Carolina 2 2010, 2011
Stanford 2 1987, 1988
Oklahoma 2 1951, 1994
Michigan 2 1953, 1962
California 2 1947, 1957

Vanderbilt is the most recent two-time champion after Tim Corbin guided teams to titles in 2014 and again in 2019. Oregon State is the most recent three-time winner with Pat Casey ending his coaching career with a title for the Beavers in 2018, their third championship.

Teams remaining in the 2022 College World Series have won either multiple or no titles. Texas has won the most titles of the teams remaining with six. Stanford and Oklahoma have two each. The most recent champion from the field is Texas from its 2005 title.

All other teams enter this year’s College World Series without a title in their program’s history, and all have reached the CWS at least twice before.

Of the teams remaining, Arkansas has made the most College World Series appearances without winning a title, with 10 entering this year. Texas A&M has reached the CWS six previous times without a title and Ole Miss has made it five times without winning. Arkansas has twice been the runner-up in the tournament.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.